December 2017: Tri-M Music Honor Society Induction

Norwell High School’s newly-formed chapter of the Tri-M Music Honor Society inducted its first class of student members on Tuesday, November 7th in the NHS Auditorium.  Sixteen students made it through a rigorous application and audition process, and on the merits of their scholarship, leadership, service, character and music performance, were invited to become the chapter’s first membership class.

Tri-M has chapters at nearly 2,000 middle and high schools across the country, and membership in it is both a recognition of a student’s accomplishments in the study of music and a call to service as the musical ambassadors of the school, whether that be as tutors to younger students, performers off-campus at community events, or working behind the scenes to strengthen the music program and make it that much more robust for students to come.

Following opening remarks at the induction ceremony from Principal William Fish and chapter advisor Mr. O’Briant, inductees received their membership materials and then performed a recital of solo and small group works for the gathered audience of friends and family.  Congratulations to our newest Tri-M members!

2017 Inductees (Front, L-R): Sarah Taylor, Kelly Liang, Jackie Coughlin, Kevin Cafferty, Delia Berowitz; (Middle, L-R): Niav Maher, Tess Maguire, Chloe Hohmann, Brian Alban; (Back, L-R): Matt Kirslis, Robert Scott, Rosemary Hoitt, Allison Hershoff, Everett Hayes, Meaghan Coughlin, Thierry Beal.

Sarah Taylor performing Rodgers and Hammerstein

Everett Hayes and Matt Kirslis performing their arrangement of Meredith Wilson’s “Till There Was You”

Kelly Liang and Delia Berowitz performing a Beethoven duet

Comments are closed.